EDRC: Callin wins Top Fuel

Susanne Callin claimed victory in the Top Fuel Final of the NitrOlympX, round three of the FIA ​​European Drag Racing Championship held at the Rico Anthes Quartermile at the Hockenheimring

In a tight Pro Modified final, Michel Tooren took victory over Andres Arnover. Jonny Lagg beat Sandro Bellio to claim Top Methanol honors and in Pro Stock it was Jimmy Ålund again, this time with the tiniest of margins over Stefan Ernryd.

The first big upset of the weekend came when championship leader Ida Zetterström was beaten by number five qualifier Susanne Callin. The Finnish racer’s dragster lost traction and broke the fan belt. As a result, after a bye run in the semi-finals, Callin qualified for the final.

On the other side of the elimination ladder, Antti Horto defeated Dennis Nilsson and then had to face top qualifier Jndia Erbacher in the semi-finals. As Horto had clocked 3.95 seconds in the first lap and Erbacher 3.94 seconds, it promised to be an exciting and close encounter. Eventually the race was decided on the starting line, with Erbacher immediately losing traction and Horto coming out on top.

In the final, Horto was unable to start after suffering serious engine damage in the semi-final against Erbacher. After another exemption race, Callin took the win, his first of the season and his first FIA race win after returning to the Top Fuel class.

As expected, eliminations in Modified Pro were thrilling and full of upheaval. In round one, qualifier number three, Mats Eriksson pulled a red light and was out of competition. David Vegter, the top qualifier, qualified for the semi-finals after beating Jean Dulamon in the first round and after a bye run in the quarter-finals. There he had to face fellow Dutchman Michel Tooren, the number four qualifier who won a close quarter-final against Bruno Bader. As Vegter struggled, Tooren took the win with an excellent time of 6.01 to advance to the final.

In the final, Tooren met another surprise finalist, Andres Arnover. The ninth-qualified Estonian stunned Andy Robinson in the first round, improved to 5.96 seconds to beat Marcus Hilt in the quarter-finals and earned a semi-final bye as the leader of the championship and second qualifier for the event, Jan Ericsson. suffered severe fan damage in his race against Marck Harteveld and was unable to make the semi-final.

In an extremely close final, Tooren crossed the finish line after 6.023 seconds, while Arnover had an ET of 6.020 seconds, but thanks to a better reaction time, Tooren took his first victory.

In Top Methanol, number one and two qualifiers Sandro Bellio and Jonny Lagg advanced to the final. Bellio beat Silvio Strauch in the semi-finals as the German rider was the surprise winner over Linn Fløysvik on the first lap. Lagg earned a bye in the semifinals. In the finale, Bellio’s Chevrolet Monte Carlo Funny Car drifted into the wall. The defending champion had to lift and that gave Lagg the win with a run of 5.46 seconds.

In the Pro Stock semi-finals there was a major upset when second-best qualifier Michael Malmgren pulled a red light, handing victory and a place in the final to Stefan Ernryd, who had to use his spare engine after suffered serious damage. to its number one engine in qualifying.

In the second semi-final, Jimmy Ålund improved to 6.63 seconds on his way to the final. In an extremely close race, it was 6.65 seconds for Ålund and 6.69 seconds for Ernryd, with the multiple champion taking the win.

The next and final round of the 2022 FIA EDRC is set to take place at Santa Pod Raceway in England in two weeks

Comments are closed.